Weather News

Tropical Storm watch issued for six Midlands counties, weather service announces

Six counties in South Carolina’s Midlands are now under a tropical storm watch as Hurricane Dorian threatens the Southeast.

Those six counties are Bamberg, Orangeburg, Calhoun, Clarendon, Lee and Sumter counties, according to a release from the National Weather Service office in Columbia.

“These areas should prepare for the possibility of isolated power outages with some travel difficulties due to downed trees and power lines,” the release said.

A tropical storm watch means that tropical storm conditions are possible within 48 hours, according to the National Hurricane Center.

Areas in those six counties, particularly near the I-95 corridor, could see tropical storm force winds late Wednesday, the release said. As for rainfall, the eastern Midlands could see up to six inches of rain in some parts, with most rain amounts ranging from two to four inches, the release said.

Listen to our daily briefing:

The eye of the hurricane is not expected to come near the Midlands, but even then, the storm’s effects may still be felt. Tropical storm force winds extend up to 175 miles from the center of the storm, according to a release from the National Weather Service.

Although the eye of the storm is predicted to be over the ocean, Dorian will be less than 150 miles from Columbia Metropolitan Airport, the National Weather Service office in Columbia tweeted.

Hurricane Dorian — which made landfall in the Bahamas as a Category 5 hurricane on Sunday — was downgraded to a Category 2 hurricane Tuesday. However, the chances of the storm affecting the Midlands have increased, the release said.

“A tropical storm warning may be needed for areas currently under a watch,” the release said.

Follow more of our reporting on Hurricane Dorian

See all 10 stories