David Cloninger

Duane Notice named SEC Sixth Man of the Year

One of the best seasons in program history didn’t go un-noticed by the league’s coaches.

South Carolina’s Duane Notice was named SEC Sixth Man of the Year on Tuesday while Michael Carrera was first-team All-SEC in the coaches’ all-conference awards. Sindarius Thornwell was named to the All-SEC defensive team.

Frank Martin, despite taking a team picked seventh in preseason voting to a third-place finish, came in under Texas A&M’s Billy Kennedy for SEC Coach of the Year. The Aggies were picked third and finished tied for first.

Notice was USC’s first individual SEC superlative since Sam Muldrow won SEC Defensive Player of the Year in 2011. He only started five games (the last five) and averaged 11.2 points per game with a career-best 10.4 points per game. Notice shot 41.2 percent from the field.

“I’m so proud of him,” Martin said. “He’s a stud. In a day and age where most folks in his age group, they’re concerned with me-me-me-me-me, he’s one of the guys who’s concerned with we-we-we-we-we.”

Carrera was USC’s first first-team All-SEC selection since Devan Downey in 2010. He led the Gamecocks with 14.5 points and 7.7 rebounds per game and averaged 16.1 points during the SEC season.

Thornwell led USC with 1.5 steals per game, the fifth-best mark in the SEC, and blocked 13 shots.

Follow on Twitter at @DCTheState

First-team All-SEC

Michael Carrera, South Carolina

Damian Jones, Vanderbilt

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M

Stefan Moody, Ole Miss

Jamal Murray, Kentucky

Retin Obasohan, Alabama

Ben Simmons, LSU

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Second-team All-SEC

Wade Baldwin, Vanderbilt

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M

Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida

J.J. Frazier, Georgia

Danuel House, Texas A&M

Moses Kingsley, Arkansas

Yante Maten, Georgia

Kevin Punter, Tennessee

All-defensive team

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M

Moses Kingsley, Arkansas

Luke Kornet, Vanderbilt

Retin Obasohan, Alabama

Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

All-freshman team

KeVaughn Allen, Forida

Antonio Blakeney, LSU

Tyler Davis, Texas A&M

D.J. Hogg, Texas A&M

Jamal Murray, Kentucky

Kevin Puryear, Missouri

Ben Simmons, LSU

Quinndary Weatherspoon, Mississippi State

SEC Player of the Year

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

SEC Freshman of the Year

Ben Simmons, LSU

SEC Defensive Player of the Year

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

SEC 6th Man of the Year

Duane Notice, South Carolina

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Retin Obasohan, Alabama

SEC Coach of the Year

Billy Kennedy, Texas A&M