USC Recruiting

Five Gamecock commits picked for NC-SC Shrine Bowl

5-star USC commit Zacch Pickens in action on Friday night

South Carolina football commitment Zacch Picken and the TL Hanna Yellow Jackets take on Emerald in the 2018 season opener.
Up Next
South Carolina football commitment Zacch Picken and the TL Hanna Yellow Jackets take on Emerald in the 2018 season opener.

Five South Carolina commitments were among players picked for NC-SC Shrine Bowl.

Four were picked to play on the South Carolina team – TL Hanna’s Zacch Pickens, Westwood’s Cam Smith, Williston-Elko’s Keshawn Toney and Northwestern receiver Jamario Holley.

Central Cabarrus’ Derek Boykins was picked for NC team.

Pickens is the No. 1 prospect in the state by various recruiting services and committed to South Carolina in early August. The defensive lineman has 52 tackles, three sacks on defense and has rushed for 12 touchdowns on offense this year.

Smith, a defensive back, is the No. 2 ranked prospect in SC Class of 2019 according to 247Sports. It is the second all-star game selection for Smith, who was picked for the All-American Bowl. He has 33 tackles this season.

Holley, the No. 3 prospect for the state, has 18 catches for 251 yards and four touchdowns and also has rushed for three scores.

Toney is the 14th-ranked prospect in the state. He has 35 catches for 403 yards and seven touchdowns despite missing a couple games because of injuries this season.

Boykins in the 19th-ranked prospect in NC, according to 247Sports.

SC Shrine Bowl Roster

Quarterbacks – Davis Beville, Greenville; Alex Meredith, TL Hanna

Running backs – Ailym Ford, West Florence; Cortney Jackson, Abbeville; Ta Meric Williams, Greer

Receivers – Cortes Braham, Westwood; Jalon Calhoun, Southside; DJ Chisolm, Berkeley; Jamario Holley, Northwestern; Quendarius Jefferson, Hillcrest; Donte Stanley, Latta

Tight ends – Luke Deal, Emerald; Avery Reece, Belton-Honea Path; Keshawn Toney, Williston-Elko

Offensive Lineman – Jackson Chappell, South Pointe; Jysaiah Cromer Broome; Jaylen Dunbar, Ridge View; John Gelotte Dorman; Evan Jumper, Myrtle Beach; Zion Nelson, Sumter; Kameren Stewart, Dutch Fork; Mason Trotter, Dorman; Wyatt Tunall, Chester;

Defensive Lineman – Quack Cohen, Greer; Cooper Dawson, Hanahan; Devante Gambrell, Westside; Tysheik Galloway Belton-Honea Path; Zacch Pickens, TL Hanna; Nate Temple, Abbeville;

Linebackers – Logan Billings, Boiling Springs; Deandre Cornish, Byrnes; Nick Dixon, Spartanburg; Davon Gilmore, Fort Dorchester; Shamar McCollum, Dillon; Mike McDowell, Boiling Springs; Jaquez Smith, Gaffney; Greg Williams, Swansea

Defensive backs – Fentrell Cypress, Northwestern; Jalen Geiger, Spring Valley; Jaylen Mahoney, South Pointe; Hugh Ryan, Dutch Fork; Cam Smith, Westwood; Anthony Wilson, Spring Valley

Kicker/punter – Michael Hayes, West Florence

Head Coach: Jackie Hayes, Dillon

Assistants: Steve Blanchard, Hanahan; Marion Brown, Baptist Hill; Steve LaPrad, Fort Dorchester; Chris Miller, Spartanburg; Ken Tucker, Bethune Bowman

NC Shrine Bowl Roster

Quarterbacks – Kennique Bonner-Steward, Hough; Sam Howell, Monroe Sun Valley

Running Backs – Zonavan Knight, Southern Nash; Demetrius Mauney, East Rutherford; Syheam McQueen, Scotland

Receivers – Elijah Bowick, Myers Park; Khafre Brown, West Mecklenburg; Nolan Groulx, Hough; Emery Simmons, Hope Mills South View; Welton Spottsville, Havelock; Mateo Sudipo, Wake Forest

Tight Ends – Ken Walker, Canton Pisgah

Offensive Linemen – Isaac Chapman, Alexander Central; Jack Cutler, South Iredell; Larry Dowdy, South Point; C.J. Elmonus, Asheville Reynolds; Billy Hambrook, Charlotte Catholic; Sam Hartsell, Concord; Isaiah Helms, West Caldwell; Drew Little, North Stanly; Jacob Monk, Wendell Corinth Holders; Parker Moorer, Mallard Creek;

Defensive Linemen – Kezian Everett, Farmville Central; Joshua Harris, Roxboro; Person Savion Jackson, Clayton; Jaden McKenzie, Wake Forest; John Oxce, Southwest Guilford

Linebackers – Prince Bemah, Charlotte Hunter Huss; Derek Boykins, Central Cabarrus; Jurriente Davis, Greensboro Dudley; Treveon Freshwater, Northeastern; Lee Kpogba, Parkland; Jacob Roberts, Mallard Creek; Jaylon Scott, Shelby; Drake Thomas, Wake Forest Heritage

Defensive backs – Alex Angus, Greensboro Page; Shyheim Battle, Rocky Mount; C.J. Clark, North Stanly; Tony Davis, Charlotte Hunter Huss; Anthony Harris, Havelock; Khalid Martin, East Forsyth; JaQuan McMillian, West Forsyth; JR Walker, Clayton

Kicker/Punter – Matthew Chmil, Greensboro Page

Head Coach: Steven Davis, James B. Dudley

Assistants: Kent Briggs, Cherokee; Mike Palmieri, Mallard Creek; Marcus Wall, South View; Antonio Moore, Northeastern; Reggie Lucas, Wake Forest; Ernest King, Westover