High School Football

Dakereon Joyner named South Carolina’s Mr. Football

Watch: South Carolina commit Dakereon Joyner wins Mr. Football

Fort Dorchester QB and South Carolina commit Dakereon Joyner was named Mr. Football.
Up Next
Fort Dorchester QB and South Carolina commit Dakereon Joyner was named Mr. Football.

Fort Dorchester High quarterback Dakereon Joyner added another one of the state’s top honors Saturday.

Joyner was named the state’s Mr. Football in a ceremony at Touchstone Energy’s North-South Football game. The South Carolina commitment was named the Palmetto Champions Back of the Year last week and was SC Gatorade Player of Year last season.

Joyner is the ninth future Gamecock to win the honor and first since Shaq Roland (2011), who later transferred.

“Some former legends have won this award like Marcus Lattimore, Jadeveon Clowney, Stephon Gilmore. And they all went to South Carolina,” Joyner said. “So I’m blessed and honored to win this award.”

Joyner was quick to give credit to others who helped him to get to this point, including teammates, coaches and support staff at Fort Dorchester and also his family. Joyner’s late grandfather got him started playing the game when he was a young child.

“Football helps me get my mind off a lot of things,” Joyner said. “I have been through a lot in my past but it has become my outlet.”

Other Mr. Football finalists were Newberry’s Amir Abrams, Chapman quarterback Colton Bailey, Spartanburg linebacker Connor Shugart and Spring Valley linebacker Channing Tindall.

This season, Joyner threw for 2,376 yards and rushed for 980 yards with 49 total TDs in helping Fort Dorchester to the Class 5A Lower State championship. For his career, he threw for 9,745, rushed for 3,324 with 157 total touchdowns.

Joyner also was 40-3 as a starter in his career with his only losses coming against Dutch Fork.

Joyner will sign with USC on Dec. 20 and enroll in January. He will play in next week’s Shrine Bowl and in the Offense-Defense All-American Bowl in New Orleans on Dec. 30.

Mr. Football Winners

1992: Stephen Davis, RB, Spartanburg

1993: Jeff Coleman, DT, Gaffney

1994: Anthony Downs, RB, Berea

1995: Jermale Kelley, WR, Berea

1996: Kyle Young, OL, Daniel

1997: Chris Hope, DB, Rock Hill

1998: Derek Watson, RB, Palmetto

1999: Mark Logan, QB, Greenwood

2000: Roscoe Crosby, WR, Union

2001: Moe Thompson, DE, Stratford

2002: Eric McCollom, QB, Camden

2003: Trey Elder, QB, Appalachian State

2004: J.D. Melton, QB, Myrtle Beach

2005: Prince Miller, DB, Byrnes

2006: Malcolm Long, QB, Gaffney

2007: Richard Mounce, QB, Blythewood

2008: Stephon Gilmore, CB, South Pointe

2009: Marcus Lattimore, RB, Byrnes

2010: Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Pointe

2011: Shaq Roland, WR, Lexington

2012: Tramel Terry, WR, Goose Creek

2013: Jacob Park, QB, Stratford

2014: Matt Colburn, RB, Dutch Fork

2015: Tavien Feaster, RB, Spartanburg

2016: Gage Moloney, QB, Northwestern

2017: Dakereon Joyner, QB, Fort Dorchester