About The State

The State Media Company

1401 Shop Road

Columbia, SC 29201-4843

 

Customer Service: 1-800-888-3566

Main Switchboard: 1-803-771-6161

 

 

 

Quality Journalism: The State is South Carolina's most honored newspaper, with special recognition for photography and coverage of sports, politics and public policy. The State was the only South Carolina newspaper awarded the "Triple Crown" by the Associated Press Sports Editors (APSE) for Sunday and special sections and digital sports coverage. Members of The State's newsroom received more than two dozen first-place awards in the annual newspaper contest of the South Carolina Press Association, with an emphasis on photography, page design and coverage of elections, politics, sports, food, entertainment, the military and education. The State's daily politics report – "The Buzz" (thestate.com/the-buzz) – was recognized for digital innovation by The McClatchy Company, parent company of The State and 28 other daily newspapers.

 

Founded: The State Media Company was founded on February 18, 1891 by the Gonzales brothers (N.G., Ambrose and William). The name and the state tree, the Palmetto, which accompanies the name, symbolized the brothers' commitment to the state of South Carolina.

 

Sons of an aristocratic planter's daughter and a Cuban revolutionary who also was a Confederate colonel, the Gonzales brothers wanted to create a powerful voice and led the newspaper to become the largest and most influential in the state.

 

The newspaper was family-owned until 1986, when it was purchased by Knight Ridder. It was bought by The McClatchy Company in 2006 with McClatchy's acquisition of Knight Ridder.

 

The Market: Geographically, Columbia — the state capital — is in the center of the state, with a two-hour drive from either the Atlantic coast or the Blue Ridge Mountains, and about halfway between New York City and Miami, with easy access to interstate highways. Not just the center of state government, Columbia also is home to the main campus of the University of South Carolina and its developing research park, Innovista, and to Fort Jackson — the country's largest U.S. Army basic training base.

 

Key Executives:

President & Publisher Sara Borton publisher@thestate.com

Vice President Finance Cindy Taulbee ctaulbee@thestate.com

Vice President Executive Editor Mark Lett mlett@thestate.com

Vice President Advertising Bernie Heller bheller@thestate.com

Vice President Digital Advertising  Bryan Osborn bosborn@thestate.com

Senior Audience Development Director Chuck Flynn cflynn@thestate.com

Operations Director William King wking@thestate.com

Marketing Director Kathy Allen kallen@thestate.com

Human Resources Director   Debbie Henderson Northcutt dnorthcutt@thestate.com

 

 

 

Link for Job Openings 

Building Location: The State is housed in a 260,000-square-foot building, completed in 1988, three miles south of downtown Columbia.

Websites: TheState.com, GoGamecocks.com, GoColumbia.com

To Subscribe: http://www.thestate.com/plus/

About GoGamecocks.com

Follow GoGamecocks on Facebook  Follow GoGamecocks on Twitter @gogamecocks

Website: GoGamecocks.com is devoted to sports at the University of South Carolina. Content includes: coverage of games and practice; press conference audio and video; and exclusive interviews with players, coaches and recruits.

GoGamecocks.com provides complete recruiting coverage on athletes from the Palmetto State, and student-athletes who South Carolina is recruiting.

Text alerts from Gamecock games and breaking news stories keep Gamecock fans in-the-know at all times. For the die-hard Gamecock fan, GoGamecocks.com is available anywhere, via the internet or mobile.

GoGamecocks.com represents outstanding, exclusive coverage by The State Media Company's award-winning sports reporting team.

GoGamecocks The Magazine: The State Media Company also produces GoGamecocks the Magazine.

GoGamecocks The Magazine
P.O. Box 1333
Columbia, SC 29202
Phone: (803) 771-8450
Fax: (803) 771-8613